Letter from the Editor: 10 September 2011

By Laura MacPhee

Dear All,

I hope you have had a lovely week. First of all, let me thank you for making me so welcome during my first week as The Vibe’s Editor. My intention is to run a weekly column here, where I reflect on the week’s events and look forward to the week ahead. I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank my team publicly for all the work they have put in this week.

Coming from a legal background, it seems appropriate that I should have joined during such a litigious week. Our first daily story this week was Emma Brooks’ critique of Jacques Chirac’s corruption trial, and our last was my own analysis of John Galliano’s sentencing. On Wednesday, the UN Tribunal at the Hague convicted General Momcilo Perisic of aiding and abetting crimes, but acquitted him of a direct role in the Srebrenica massacre. In Delhi, the high court was the target of a bomb blast, which left 11 dead and at least 61 injured.

As children returned to school after the summer holiday, Nick Clegg ruled out the option of running free schools at a profit, as he wanted to avoid them becoming “the preserve of a privileged few”. On Thursday, the UN’s International Literacy Day was used to raise awareness of global literacy needs.

In Libya, a convoy of more than 50 vehicles crossed the border into Niger, transporting armed pro-Gaddafi supporters to the country’s capital. Gaddafi denied having fled in this way. Burkina Faso has announced that it will not grant the Libyan dictator asylum. Elsewhere in the Middle East, security is high in Egypt following a violent attack on the Israeli Embassy in Cairo.

As I write, England has just won its first Rugby World Cup match against Argentina, 13-9. I imagine pubs up and down the country are readying themselves for a busy afternoon. I’d like to recommend Huw Silk’s informative piece on the sporting event and how it can broaden its international appeal.

I’d also like to welcome Peter Bowden, who has written a very entertaining piece on unpaid internships (which many of us will have experienced personally). That will be published later this afternoon. A survey released on Monday found that half of all UK internships are still unpaid.

This news came as US President Barack Obama prepared to launch his new $450 billion scheme to promote job creation, a strategy which he presented to a joint session of Congress on Thursday. American citizens have also been warned of a new terror threat, which has prompted an extensive and meticulous security operation in New York.

I am very much looking forward to our features tomorrow, which will mark the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Centre. I hope that these will inspire lively debate and encourage readers to reassess their ideas about this much discussed subject.

I have decided to select my favourite article of each week, in the hope of appealing to your competitive streaks. My choice this week is Chris McCarthy’s excellent analysis of Winston Churchill’s famous “We shall never surrender” speech.

Hope you all have a good week.

With very best wishes,

Laura

Leave a Reply

